April 07, 2003 1:00 am

Rodeo is DONE

I am so glad the rodeo is over. At about 1 a.m. last night I felt like my life was my own again.

Yesterday's broadcast was easy enough, easier than the weekday ones. The weather was nice and there were lots of people out there. There were also lots of goodbyes with the nice folks I've met out there that will be doing other things now.

I was asked to introduce Pat Green on the stage. A good opportunity since it was the biggest crowd of the entire rodeo. I had to kill time between my broadcast's end and the show, so I watched UT lose to Syracuse and drank free beer at a private party there at the rodeo. I moved on down to backstage and met up with my boss and his wife and went with her to meet Pat Green. I've met him before but I wasn't in the job I am now, so he had more reason to know me this time. He was very sweet.

I introduced him along with the two guys from our sister station's morning show, the guys I worked with for those four horrible months (see entries from September 2001 through January 2002). We have not been on the best of terms since then. They were nice in their intros though. They wished Pat a happy birthday and Pat went ahead and came onstage at that point and gave me a big hug as if we were old friends. That was nice. Then one of the guys (the fat one, I'm not putting names here in case he is an ego-surfer) introed me and I introed Pat Green. It went really well, I think. The show was good.

After, I went back to the private party to hear a little music from the band. They didn't do much for me so I was leaving when I ran into my boss and his wife again. They took me back to the party for one more drink and then we all left. It was a good finale to a long two weeks.

After I felt like I needed to hear some real bar music so I went by the Spoke to see the Cornell Hurd Band for maybe three songs. They were great and I got their new CD and talked to Herb and Danny Roy.

Today I attempted to go downtown and meet the journal writers for coffee but couldn't get anywhere near Congress. I got frustrated and abandoned the cause. Found out tonight from Stehpanie that it was the filming of Spy Kids 3 that had me blocked out.

Just as well, I finally bought groceries today and that has been put off for weeks.

Tonight I went to Antone's to see the band play their last gig before Europe and wish them all well. It was sad to say goodbye, except maybe to Nick who started railing on my company and new-for-profit, etc. I am not a good debater and never have a response. I thought later, though, if we didn't have news for profit, how would we have news? Would you want your government to be your only news source? Would you want a non-profit agency to provide your news? Don't you think even they might become biased based on who contributes to their nonprofit organization? I don't believe that news-for-profit necessarily means bias. Okay, I didn't have my response ready with him and it probably wouldn't have changed his mind anyway.

Home now and ready for a regular workweek tomorrow. Hallelujah.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland