April 04, 2003 11:20 pm

Sadness for Choda

I'm glad that is it Friday night and this week has almost drawn to a close. It has been a rough one. The rodeo has been hard enough, being out there in the wind every afternoon and having so much to do at the station, but having to leave and go out there to the Expo Center and then return at night to do more. But, going to the funeral yesterday made it extra hard.

Mark and I went to Dallas late Wednesday night and stayed at my sister's. I enjoyed getting to see her and her family yesterday morning and last night. That made the trip a little easier. Yesterday afternoon we went to the funeral. A bizarre incident made the bizarre day even weirder. We were just getting to the Restland Cemetery in Dallas, a huge place. We slowed to turn into the cemetery itself. A man working for the cemetery and driving a golf cart saw us slowing and turning so he pulled out onto the street, not seeing a car to our left. He ran into her right rear quarter-panel and she drove into a street sign. We watched as he was ejected from his golf cart and thrown head first into the street. It was horrific. Mark ran to render aid and I called 911. He survived and paramedics took him to the hospital and he appeared to not be too terribly bad off, thankfully.

The service itself was incredibly sad. It was made more sad by the small group there. Choda's parents and their current spouses, his sister, his friend that found him, Mark and me....and then one more. One woman had met him online a couple of months ago. She had had lunch with him a couple of weeks ago and got to visit with him in person for a while. They had continued to e-mail and talk. I think it was incredibly brave of her to come to a funeral of a person she barely knew. I know Choda would have gotten a big kick out of it since he was not much of a dater, although he loved women. Women just usually aren't attracted to hermits who live in dark filthy houses and have no money. The service was long, since it was mainly each of us talking about our experiences with him. We cried and cried. It was hard to see my husband talking with tears falling off of his cheeks. He is still very down about this and will be for a long while, I'm sure.

Other than the sadness there, it has been a good week. CGP was at the rodeo again on Tuesday and Wednesday. I have mostly only been able to talk to him in loud places where you can't really converse. Wednesday night I finally took him to a quiet bench outside the rodeo and got to know him a lot better. He's a very nice guy. Of course, the more I get to know the "real" CGP, the less he works in my fantasy world. Damn. I'll have to cultivate some other hottie from afar to entertain me in that arena.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland