2000-05-01 01:18:03

Austin Sunday

Wow, it's May. Where does the time go?

I had a great Sunday, I am so happy to say. It got off to a real late start when I woke up and realized it was one o'clock in the freaking afternoon! I hate that. Yes, I'd gone to bed at 4 a.m. so that isn't way too many hours of sleep but I just want to get up earlier. Yes, yes, I AM going to start setting an alarm just so I can't say that I didn't know how late it was.

Met up with the Austin area journalers at El Arroyo. What a great spring afternoon to sit under the trees and drink margaritas. I don't know why I always feel there needs to be alcoholic beverages close by in order for it to feel like an "Austin" day, but I do. This was a great Austin experience. Nice to see Jette and (well, I don't know if the others use psuedonyms or not) GB again and nice to meet Mr. A and Mr. B. One of my favorite things to do in this new city, this new world, is to meet new people and hear about their worlds. Everyone at this lunch table lives in entirely different worlds than I do, but they were all entertaining and fun to be around.

I moved on from this fun gathering to another fun gathering. I was a little miffed at the lack of invitation to this gathering. My sweet hubby had told me that HE was going to this couple's home and had not mentioned that I would be welcome too until this afternoon as I left for my diarist lunch. I certainly was not rudely late when I got there. In fact I wasn't even the last there. Turns out, this wasn't just the couple and hubby, it was a party with many friends and neighbors. Glad I made it. I would have come home and sulked if I hadn't gotten to go. Great food and, again, fun conversations with people I didn't know.

Sour ending to the day at Mr. Butts grocery store. I needed just a few things at the HEB and got them and then realized that the four checkstands that were open each had five carts lined up, loaded with groceries. No, not just full, these were rolling avalanches ready to topple. I waited and waited, debated ditching a few items to get to go through the few open express lanes but they didn't appear to have any more speed. I knew I would miss the Practice if I didn't get out of there soon and with four huge carts in front of me there didn't stand a chance of me getting home for it. I finally told the cosmetics manager I was abandoning my cart and leaving. I don't mind leaving a place that isn't giving good service but I didn't think it would be fair to let the fish thaw and ruin in my cart. She was nice enough to offer to check me there at the cosmetics counter as long as I didn't have stuff that needed to be weighed. I abandoned my bananas and ginger and got my groceries and only missed fifteen minutes of the Practice. I guess I'll go read mightybigtv.com and get the recap. I haven't watched the rest of the show yet either, I just taped it and will watch it with Mark when he gets home. He's gigging tonight.

I hear thunder outside although the storms aren't supposed to roll through until 4 a.m. Wish they would hold off a little while for Mark to get home but we sure could use a good rain.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland