Thursday, Apr. 27, 2006 7:51 am

Dad's in the hospital

Interesting to read my Monday entry and see my expectations and plans for the week.... They were blown out of the water in about an hour.

On the way home from the eye doctor, I got a message that Daddy was in the emergency room. He went in for his regular Monday treatments and was having terrible pain in his abdomen. He complained to the chemo doctor about an upset stomach. That doctor listened to his stomach and it was quiet and he said and upset stomach is always making noise. He sent dad right over to the ER for an X-ray. They determined that there was air in his belly, which means there is a perforated ulcer or a tear in the colon... something letting the air in there. It is very dangerous (I find out later) because the hole can also let out the bile and stomach acid and food into the body cavity and that can cause septic shock and death.

They rushed Dad right along to surgery and did a big incision down his belly and found ulcers around his new feeding tube immediately. They checked everything to make sure, but this appeared to be the problem. They repaired it and put in a better feeding tube while they were in there.

I worked on Monday and worked very late on Monday night doing shows for Virginia and getting logs done so our station would stay on the air through Friday.

Since it was our anniversary, I stayed up late until Mark got home and gave him the camera and celebrated some more. I hated to miss out Tuesday night dinner, but we'll do it another time.

I came up Tuesday to Denton and spent Tuesday and Wednesday and today here. I am getting rushed finishing this entry now because my Mom is up and my sister has called and I can get ready now and get on up to the hospital.

Dad's doing fine, but he is out of his head a lot and saying really funny things. It is entertaining. I've enjoyed getting to meet his many doctors that everyone else knows well. I will go back to Austin this afternoon because I need to. He probably won't get out of the hospital until Monday.

More later, this was just a stopgap entry.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland