2000-04-25 20:30:27

Easter weekend

I have fallen a little behind, haven't I?

Big Easter weekend with the in-laws visiting. Saturday I dilly dallied around and worked on the computer all afternoon. The scanner and computer had become enemies and I finally got them speaking again. I messed around and messed around in all of the time I should have been cleaning house or going up to the studios to do some work. Finally I went downtown and 9 and worked late late and THEN came home and started making and wrapping Mark's anniversary present and cleaning house and washing sheets. I finally went to bed at 4:30 a.m. I told myself that I would get up at 8:30 and get the last few things done and then I would leave the house by 10 a.m. in order to go the 30 miles to see my grandmother in North Austin for Easter. When the alarm went off at 8:30 I did my best to ignore it but I laid there a while and finally got up. Telling myself I had to leave by 10 and knowing I had shortened my work time some I looked at the clock and discovered it was 10:16! I had no idea I had fallen back to sleep but I must have. I threw sheets on the bed and put dishes in the washer and dressed without a shower and sped up to Mamma's for a short short visit. I dashed back and did a few more things in the way of housecleaning and took a shower and hoped and hoped I'd have a minute to sit and eat before the in-laws got here. No such luck, they pulled in the driveway at 1:30.

Mark came home from Houston about an hour later and we all opted for a good nap instead of an Austin tour. I needed that nap! I also needed food and I didn't get that until we went to dinner at Vinny's. It was wonderful, as usual, but I had a blinding splitting headache by that time. No sleep and no food is a rotten combination.

Monday was a much better day and we took the in-laws to the Wildflower Center and to lunch at Threadgill's and to Barton Springs. Mark's stepdad went to UT in the 1930s and had some great stories about Austin in those days. He could hardly recognize Barton Springs but he had had many happy days there, learning to smoke a pipe and flirting with the girls.

Everyone voted again for an afternoon nap on Monday but I went to work instead of napping, although napping would have been my first choice.

Monday was our anniversary as well. Seven wonderful years of wedded bliss (and that is no lie!). Mark's mother asked Monday evening what we wanted to do for our anniversary. I told her I knew that if we were home alone and left to our own devices we'd probably eat cheese and crackers and watch TV, so that is what we all did. We watched the movie You've Got Mail again. They hadn't seen it.

For the anniversary Mark gave me a beautiful huge crystal vase with bluebonnets engraved on it and a cut star on the bottom. Very me. I gave him lots of handkerchiefs with his monogram on them and cologne. His card to me had Regis on it, which was very timely.

I went back to the psychiatrist and am officially off Adderol now and tapering off of Prozac. We'll see how that goes. He expects I will have a setback and call him for a different antidepressant within the month. We'll see. My new vitamins seem to be helping me do better on the focusing at work but I'm still sleepy all the time. Of course, four hours of sleep probably isn't enough!

Tomorrow I'm going to the new female doctor for a physical and all that yearly gross stuff. I'm hoping she might test the hormones and say, "Aha! Here's where the problem has been all along! Take these pills and you'll drop 40 pound by next week and you'll be happy forever more!"

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland