Monday, Apr. 24, 2006 8:54 am

Our anniversary

I will drink a total of five giant cups of coffee this morning if I want to finish off the pot. Mark made it way too strong and I had to add lots of water to make it drinkable. I hate to waste coffee, but I probably won't be able to drink five cups in an hour an a half.

Today is my anniversary. How the time does fly and how happy we are these days. It is nice to be this happy in a marriage and to realize, yes, it was worth it to wait out the few trying times. This is number 13. Thirteen years ago right now I believe I was in the hairdressers chair with my sister and B! close by. The wedding was at noon. It was windy and a little rainy for the wedding, but the afternoon was beautiful for the drive to Austin with bluebonnets everywhere. What a great day.

I don't know if we are exchanging gifts or not! We talked about not, but I didn't feel like we had reached a consensus and we talked about me wanting a grill for a present, so I felt like I was getting a grill. So I bought Mark a small (cheap) digital camera so he could have one in his pocket. All he has right now is the bulky SLR digital camera that takes great pictures. Last night he got home after midnight from a gig and gave me a card and a big candle from Circle _ Candles (I never can remember the letter... not K, for sure, and I'm pretty sure not C... that leaves 24 other possibilities)... Anyway, I still think he'll give me a gift so I've got the camera handy. If he doesn't, will I take it back? No, I think I'll still give it to him. He showers me with gifts all the time. We aren't going out to celebrate our anniversary until tomorrow night when we are both more free.

I didn't go play my gig Saturday night. I hadn't promised that I would so I took that opportunity to just stay home and feel crappy and headachey. I had a pretty unproductive weekend. If you are going to just lay around and do nothing, you should at least feel like you are enjoying yourself and having fun watching TV or whatever, but I never felt good about anything that I did this weekend. I just felt blah.

I did finally hear from my acupuncturist and we caught up a bit on each other's lives. I really don't know how long it has been since we have talked, but it could have been Christmas. That is a shame since we are both right here. She doesn't use email anymore so that limits it some since I love email and hate the phone.

I've been feeling a few pangs of blue over the weekend. I hope it passes and doesn't develop. I'm sure it is PMS related more than anything. And it isn't even blue that I can put a finger on, just weird thoughts and weird sadness. I expect it will go when I get outside and get in some sunshine and get back to work today and a more normal routine.

My friend John from Houston was in town yesterday but I didn't get together with them. I have become a true South Austin-er. He called last night to say they were eating dinner on 6th and my immediate thought was "I'd have to go north of the river!" If they had been south I think I would have just run by and visited, but I knew I wasn't dressed right for going north. Odd. It was great to hear his voice. It is a shame he's not in radio anymore.

So. My week ahead. I don't feel too stressed about it. That is good. I may go to see the big show at Antone's tonight, but it will be packed and that is a pain, but it was fun last week. Then I'll probably still cross town to the east side to see Mark's band. Tomorrow I have dinner with Mark. Wednesday the series at the cafe. Thursday remains open right now (can I keep it that way I hope!?), Friday, work late probably, Saturday a remote in the morning. Saturday night my friend from Denver, TK, is in town and I get to meet his wife for the first time. Sunday, our best man and his brother are in town and want us to meet them at Cisco's for migas. It's filling up. Remain calm.


Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland