Saturday, Apr. 22, 2006 11:35 pm

Dentists and ice cream

Shit! Why haven't I written the last two (three really) days! ???

Okay, Thursday I had a dental appointment to get my loose crown resoldered or reglued or however they put those things back together again. I liked the woman that worked with the dentist, but wasn't so thrilled with the dentist. He seemed a little superior, a little too know-it-all. Yes, I realize I have a bad bite and my mouth is all unbalanced, but you didn't sell me that YOU are the guy that can fix it for a mere $4000. Sure, pocket change. He tried scare tactics that these two teeth that need crowns are going to split and I'll lose the tooth if I don't have this done soon. I am going to think about it some more, see if I sign up for dental insurance in the winter what it will cover when Jan. 1 rolls around, and get a second opinion. I have no doubt that I do need a couple of crowns, but I just don't know about all the other money he wants me to spend. I spent plenty in Dallas in the 90s on my TMJ and it obviously didn't make it go away. I don't know that what he has to offer is any better or more long lasting.

My office smells like kitty pooop. That can't be right.

After I had the dental appointment I went downtown to see my old friend El that is working now for the people I used to work for when I first moved here. It was really bizarre to find out that she is in the exact studio/office that I used to work in. I miss it. I saw several people that I have worked with over the years. I want to keep those friendships alive in case there is a need to work with them again. I don't want to have that happen, but you never know.

We ended up not having lunch because she was too busy, so I walked over to Mike's Pub myself and had a big greasy hamburger and fried and a coke. It was nice. The place is too packed at lunchtime, though. I used to go later in the afternoon when it was quiet. But it was nice to renew my acquiantance with the place and with downtown.

Thursday was the day with huge storms and hail and tornadoes. It makes for an interesting afternoon, but my mouth was so tired by the end of the day. It really involved a lot of work. As much for my weatherman as for me, obviously, but busy for us both. I worked late that night trying to get some shows recorded, but I was tired. Had to work late Friday night to get them all done.

Today I mowed the lawn and raked a few leaves. I mowed the neighbors lawn, too. Then I went to a remote. I was going to go play my box at the Spoke tonight, but I hadn't promised anyone that I would so I ended up not going.

I talked to my poor friend B! on the way to the remote. Poor girl. Her boyfriend quit on her again. They had just worked things out and all seemed to be going well until last night. He just can't commit. He wants his freedom, etc. etc. Of course, this is a guy that hasn't changed houses or jobs in 30 years and he thinks he is ever going to step out of that comfort zone? Yet he won't let anyone into it either. Sad. Very sad. I'm glad she isn't holding out hope or expecting him to come to his senses this time. I hope she isn't anyway.

The sweetest part of this story: She calls her brother last night when she is driving home from being dumped. She is sobbing. She says she wants ice cream, but she can't go into a store in this condition. She goes home and a while later there is a knock on her door and there's a couple with ice cream! She doesn't know these people. They do mention that she has a brother in Texas, but when she asks how this happened they just said, "Sometimes angels are watching over you." Booo hooo hoo. Her sweet brother Googled and found a courier service and called. The guy said, no, he didn't do errand like this, that wasn't his thing, but then he changed his mind and did it. He didn't even let the brother pay for it! What a sweet thing for a human being to do.

Tonight I feel PMSy and headachey and I think I may just go on to bed. Mark's playing a wedding and I don't know when he'll be home.

My nephew is at his senior prom tonight. I hope he's having infinitely more fun than I had at my senior prom.... with my "date" Julie. Oh, what a crappy night it was.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland