Wednesday, Apr. 20, 2005 10:56 am

Anticipation

Sometimes I wish I had "routine" in my life. But, if routine were to mean getting up to an alarm clock each morning and dashing off to work to be on time, I'll pass. I've needed the sleeping late of the last couple of days.

Monday night I judged a comedy contest for Austin's funniest person. It was a lot of fun to be in a comedy club again. I haven't been in one since Dallas. In Amarillo I was at the club every single week for a couple of years! Of course, when they let you in free it is a lot easier to do that. And when it is close to home. This club is so far north I don't know when I'll be back there again, but it did give me that "fever" to be funny again. I did comedy a few times and I don't really want to do that again, but I like having my mind work in that way.

There were 17 comedians and all were decent. Some were much better than others, but all had their moments and their chuckles. I almost wish we could have given some feedback to the ones that didn't advance, because some of them needed to know how close they were.

After that club, since I was already up late and out of the house, I went by Mark's club and saw his band play for a bit. The place was absolutely packed wall-to-wall. Like Yogi said, Nobody goes there anymore, it is always too crowded. I stayed, but felt out of place. Everyone else is there with lots of friends and drinking and having a good time. I knew people there, but just didn't feel part of the scene. And, of course, I couldn't talk loud enough to be heard so that was shutting me down.

Last night I had a couple of options to go out, but Mark ended up coming home so I did, too. Did the weekly Idol watch (...Scott, I'll give you a break and not hope for your ouster this week, you did well on Everlasting Love) and worked on station logs while Mark worked in the garage. Stayed up too late again.

This weekend is our anniversary and I got a reservation yesterday at our favorite hotel/B&B in Comfort. We were there on our honeymoon and for Christmas one year and my sister and I were there last year. This time we are staying in a little cottage, not a room. That should be fun. I don't know if we get the good breakfast or not. I won't get my hopes up, they may not do that on Sundays. But we should be able to eat at the Popo (?? Something weird like that) on Saturday night. That is an experience Mark has not had.

One time Kramer was saying that he "had to write" and I said I wished that I was like that. He said that I was, that I just wrote emails and letters and such instead of what I would call important things. I sort of scoffed at the time. Funny, though, over the weekend it hit me clearly that he is right. I have got to write every day. Some of it goes here, lots goes in emails, some goes in my handwritten diary, some in other documents and places, but I do feel that need to record and illuminate my life in writing. One day maybe it will gel into something that the world considers worthwhile, but in the meantime, I'm just going to write when I want to.

Weird.... I just wrote a paragraph and then watched as that paragraph disappeared. Kind of eerie, because I was writing that Charles Whitman had hypergraphia, the need to physically write. I won't write it again.... maybe a ghost is watching over my shoulder. Or maybe Dell put a curse on this damn machine.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland