April 21, 2003 12:41 am

Easter

Got a nice e-mail from Michelle. I don't know if she is one our Austin journalers or just someone who stumbled across this journal. A new reader? Wow, that makes me think. She likes my new resolutions and was drawing the strength to not stake her whole being on a boy. Way to go , Michelle. We'll see how I hold up when Mark is back in the U.S.A.

I talked to him Friday morning in Hamburg and he sounded very homesick. He asked about Nathan and whether he was home and I was honest and said that Nathan had been gone for a couple of days. He e-mailed tonight and requested that I lie to him. So I did. Nathan was here when I came home from Dallas tonight, but when I brought him into the house he clawed his way out of my arms and was gone again. Haven't seen him since. I am confident that he is close by and will be happy to be home where there aren't seven other cats in this house. But I lied in e-mail to Mark and just said that Nate was here to greet me when I got home (really, that much was true).

I am really missing Mark tonight. Just got in from a long hard drive from Denton. Watched Six Feet Under and missed him. Missed his face, his lips. Missed his listening. His smell.

Meanwhile, I get e-mail from my oldest dearest male friend. I won't go into how close we once were, but let's just say close. He and his wife are having difficulties and so many of them sounded just like me and Mark, except that he is me and she is Mark. Funny. They've been married lots longer (he wore a light blue tux for the wedding if that tells you how long ago it was) and they have two little boys. I hope it works out for them. I truly never saw what he saw in her much or what she saw in him either. They've made it a go for this long though and I hope that it works out.

My Easter was good. When I was growing up, my mother hated going to visit my grandparents and having to go to church with them. We frequently planned our visits so we had to leave early Sunday morning so that we could not go to church. That same reluctant mother is now the one that wants her children and grandchildren to go to church with her so that she can show them off. I had no idea church was included in this weekend's Easter plans until I got e-mail on Friday. Saturday required a quick trip by my favorite clothes store--Target--and I got a suitable dress and shoes for the requisite trip to church. I tolerated it and happily enjoyed the great lunch at their house. Hard traffic coming home made it a less than enjoyable Sunday. Glad to be home. Wish I had another day free.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland