Monday, Apr. 19, 2004 11:37 am

Spa spa spa

I went to the spa yesterday. I don't believe I've ever said that sentence before in my life. May never get to again.

I finally went out to the spa on the lake. I had been paid for their commercials in trade instead of cash. I really really hate gift certificates and the obligation they impose on the gift receiver. This was similar. It was about to expire and I HAD to use it. I had been dragging my heels mainly because it required me to use it on a Sunday through Thursday and I'm pretty booked on Sunday through Thursday (and Friday through Saturday, too, when I think about it). But Mark let me know last week that he was going to be working on Sunday so I took the opportunity to book the day.

It takes almost an hour to drive out there, but I used the beautiful Captitol of Texas Highway and admired bluebonnets the whole way... especially on the road down through Steiner Ranch. My God, they are gorgeous there. Big limestone walls where the road cuts through and topped by blankets of overflowing blue.

The spa had expanded since I was there last and is extra-luxurious and decadent. There are big articles in the Statesman about it from yesterday, too, talking about their new quarters.

It is weird to strip down to a robe and sandals and then go wandering around the place with strangers all around. But the robe and sandals are certainly and equalizer and no one could tell by appearances that I hadn't paid for this whole day (or, as far as anyone knew, a whole week!) at the spa.

The lunchroom was bright and cheerful and so was the waiter. I had a fabulous salad with walnuts and red onions and many kinds of greens with a feta cheese dressing. Then a shrimp pad thai that was very spicy. Dessert was frozen yogurt. Good stuff. And good iced tea with mint! I haven't had mint in my tea in ages. I need to grow some.

I was early for my appointments so they took me to the big blue room. It was like someone's fabulous lake house. Huge. Comfy. Big chairs and couches all over and a huge coffee table covered in books. I had my own book so I curled up and read. I later saw women there wrapped up in afghans, sleeping. I should have had a little of that, too! Nice.

My first session was a massage with a male masseause. I have had lots of massages, but never with a man rubbing me ALL over my body. Nice! It was a little disconcerting to start... having a man rubbing my earlobes and my hair. I got used to it fast and it was no different from having a female masseause. I liked him because he never ever talked until the end. And such a nice voice, too.

He led me, woozy, back to the waiting room and my next session was for a facial. A woman did this and her bed was heated. I liked that! She washed and steamed my face and pinched out the gross stuff. This session went superfast. I really kept waiting for her to "start" and suddenly it was done. She led me to the boutique where I could have bought the items she had used, but when I casually picked up the smallest jar (the size of a Carmex jar) and saw that it was $47, I decided I could continue to use my usual Lava soap and Vaseline face routine.

I sat some more in the beautiful blue room, went to the dressing room and sat in the steam room a little (but it wasn't even steaming up my glasses so I don't think it was very effective), and then sat in a bright linen sitting room there.

I was welcome to stay the rest of the afternoon, and if I had set my mind to that earlier in the day I might have done it. As it was, I was ready to come home and nap so I got dressed. If I had known they would have blow dryers and hair spray and all of those things, I would have brought a brush and comb (they did not have those things) and cleaned up before I left and not left looking quite so greasy. As it was, though, it was nice to still be so soft and smooth.

I came home and found my tree-trimmer neighbor finishing up the trimming of our big tree and he was grinding the stump and rototilling the bed. Glad to get that done.

I slept and slept and caught up on some of my sleep. I wish I could have caught up on some of Mark's for him. He has been coming in late late and leaving before 7 am. He did get to come home last night, which he hadn't planned on. It was nice to have him home even though he was exhuasted and snapping at me.

And I did go see Jack Saturday night at Antone's. What a cutie. I was surprised I didn't know a soul there. If I hadn't had his manager to talk with a bit I would have gone through the whole night with no conversations at all. I really thought I would know someone there before the night was out. Great show, as always. Too many people talking during Ava Adele, as usual.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland