2000-04-19 07:59:07

Acupunctured!

Mornin'!

The last couple of entries I've put together on Netscape's Composer and then moved them over here but today I'll be lazy and just use what they give me.

It is early in the morning again. I don't know if I slept any through the night. I could blame it on lots of things but I'll blame it on the Adderol since I don't like other things it does.

I haven't told about my trip to the acupuncturist Monday. What a cool experience! I can't say that I got as relaxed as Mark did or as "high" as he seemed to, but I enjoyed it and want to do it again. I really trusted the "sticker" (there is probably a better word) and she was very knowledgeable and caring. She even called the next day to see how I was feeling. Everyone asks where she stuck the needles in and if I felt them. Yes, you can feel some of them as they go in, some just feel like little taps, others are more than that. None are as painful as a shot or giving blood. And once the needle is in there is no pain there. I had needles in my stomach, my calves, feet, hands and ears, at least. Hard to remember since you're not really seeing them there, you're just feeling them. She put in needles all over my front side as I laid on my back (and, no, you're not naked--much less personal than a massage). She lit a stick of sterile hemp that smells like marijuana and blew hot smoke over the needles. She left me alone for a while with these needles and then came in and removed them, rolled me over on my stomach and put in a new batch and did the same thing. Then a hot analgesic cream on my back and a massage "device" (electric) and I was done. That makes it all sound clinical but it wasn't. It was very soothing and her talking and stories and advice was the best of it. I'd probably pay the $50 for an hour and a half of conversation. It was cheaper than therapy and more beneficial! Good advice on vitamins and herbs and her biggest advice to me was to start eating breakfast: a boiled egg and a smoothie of soy milk and juice and fruit and yogurt. I haven't gone to get the vitamins yet but I did eat a good (well, better) breakfast yesterday.

The in-laws are coming to visit Sunday so I need to give some thought to cleaning the house and sorting through the junk on the desk. At least the yard and patio are in nice shape. Mark and I sat outside late last night and enjoyed the quiet and the darkness. The sky can be very light with light pollution but the trees block so much of it out that our porch is dark dark. It was really pleasant. I told Mark to make me get up this morning and sit outside to drink my coffee. Here I am, already up and at the computer. I think I'll go back to bed for a bit. I have to tell Mark to make me do things in the morning (like getting up!). My mind is completely uncooperative and forgetful about my resolves. I'm sure if I had an early rising job again (and, believe me, I've had plenty) I could set an alarm and hit the snooze button multiple times and get up at the last possible second and get to work as late as allowable, but I'm glad I don't have to do that. Sadly, though, I can't even get up most of the time without extra incentive. I need a Mom! (Mom--if you're reading this, I realize I HAVE a Mom and no, I'm not really meaning that you need to come move in with me, although you are certainly welcome to, anytime.)

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland