April 18, 2002 11:06 am

Big day to get stuff done

Last night I had lots of words and thoughts swirling through my head and should have put them down at the time, but my contacts were sticking to my eyes and I was one tired peanut.

It was a highly successful day, though. I finished the last homework assignment for school, worked, went to the college to turn in the assignments and take the final test and the teacher loaned me material from the medical transcription class that they no longer teach, I went to the radio station and recorded three shows to take me up to Saturday, there I saw a dear young friend I hadn't seen since the firing and he didn't know I was back, went to Kitty's house and we loaded up to go to see Steven Fromholz at Hill's Cafe on the patia, very pleasant, and then we wound up the night at the Spoke watching and dancing and listening to Sussan Von Tassle (not sure about that spelling). It was a long, busy, but very satisfying day. Being geographically single has its advantages some days. Normally I am such a home body I would want to be home at some point through that long day, and yesterday, even though I did, I resisted it and went with the flow and enjoyed it. Of course, now I'm behind on all the things I need to do here at the house, but what the heck.

Today will be busy and not nearly as fun, but who knows. I'm woring and then I'm working. But when I get done tonight, if I feel great I may run up to the Carousel Lounge to see Jim Stringer and the AM Band (greatest name ever!). I've wanted to see them and go to the Carousel Lounge a long time (going back to the 42-bar year that flopped). Last night Jim Stringer played with Susanna and did a song on his own and he was terrific. Must see a whole set of that!

I had the most vivid dream this morning. The kind of dream that you know is a dream and you know you are only there for a brief moment so you take it all in as deeply as you can to truly experience it. I dreamed I was at the farm I grew up on. I was sitting at a picnic table with a couple I didn't know out at the corner of the property. It was a little on the cool side, but gloriously cool like the Panhandle gets in the evening after it has been 100+ degrees in the day. The breeze was blowing and most of our conversation at the table was about the great weather (weather is frequently the topic of conversation in Amarillo). The sky was brilliant blue with huge white clouds and I was turning every way to be able to see the house and everything before the dream ended. When it first "opened"--do dreams have scenes?--there was headstones, white military-style headstones, in the far field, barely visible, and I was most curious about those before my attention came back to the couple I was talking with. Then there was big baseball game playing right beside us where my family had our garden. It was teenagers playing and having fun and the couple commented that these were "Brittany's" friends or something that let me know that their daughter was among this group. I was having some passing thoughts through the dream about not having any children of my own. Then there was another group of people coming from the direction of the house and I believe the Beatles were among them and that is when things got weird, went to black and white, and then it was gone and I was so disappointed.

Interpretation? I would read something about enjoying life as we have it and appreciating all that there is, because it can go quickly and the graves are there waiting. But life is for fun and pleasure and games and not regrets. ??

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland