2000-04-15 00:55:10

A good Friday (though not yet THE Good Friday)

414 I had quite a successful night at work tonight and I really like the way that feels.  I just plowed through a whole load of shows and got them done.  I still will have a little work to do over the weekend but that's just so I won't have to work on Monday.  On Monday I'm having acupuncture!  That is so cool.  So Austin!  Mark had it done Wednesday and he has been raving every since.  The acupuncturist recommended I not work after I have the treatment so I'm trying to get all my Tuesday work done.  I was moving along quite well until a young co-worker came in to talk a while.  I love her dearly but she does love to talk and talk.  Apparently there was quite an incident last night when one of the guys I work with got too drunk, threatened suicide, attempted to get to the 14th floor of our building so he could jump off and the police had to be called.  What a wild night.  I'm glad I missed that drama.  This guy is a nice enough guy but he is desperately in need of some serious counseling and probably some drug therapy as well.  The powers that be are trying to help him but I think he is going to sink his own boat because he's not doing anything to help himself.

So anyway, the young co-worker talked and talked.  I need to learn a better technique of getting rid of people.  Believe me though, I do not shy away from saying, "You need to go, I have to work."

Once I was cleared of her, the boss's wife comes in to "hang."  Believe me, this is not a woman I would ever want to hang with.  I'm old enough to be her mother, except I would a better job of raising her.  I guess the boss was somewhere at work but I didn't see him.  She was drunk drunk drunk and reeking of booze.  She knocks and comes in and then calls to another employee to "come in and hang with us!"  I said, "No hanging in here!" but she insisted.  She started throwing a mock fit over my roses in my studio.  She was going on and on how someone had sent me flowers but would her husband ever send her flowers?  No, that son-of-a-bitch would never think of sending her flowers.  She was hanging around my neck declaring our friendship.  Drunk people really need to hand around only other drunk people.

I was super scattered today up until I got to rolling at work.  Our house cleaner couldn't come today because her children were sick so that eliminated the need to get up and out of the house.  A friend we were planning to meet (Grace! you know Grace) to take bluebonnet pictures of the baby got tied up with a sleeping baby and that plan sort of fell apart.  I remembered to turn in a video at Blockbuster that is probably overdue.  Last week when we rented it for the boys I had late fees from the last time the boys were here.  I'm just going to have to quit doing things that have due dates (I wish I could take that attitude about the taxes).

I needed to get gas in the car and I couldn't find a Mobil station so I could use my speedpass.  I kept forgetting the need for gas and I'd get distracted and away from any gas stations.  I ended up being in downtown and then having to go back to the edges of downtown to get gas.  I don't know what settled me down and allowed me to work so well.  I wish I could pinpoint these things.  I had a big ol' Sonic hamburger and a shitload of tater tots---my favorite.  I think having a good meal before work does help.  I did not take the speed today because I wanted to be able to sleep tonight.

I did get a bottle in the mail today of some "yeast killing" medicine I ordered on the internet.  It is a long story that I won't go into but at a couple of points in the past I have gone through depression (before they had invented all the good drugs to help handle it) and yeast killing herbs and potions did wonders!  The kind I took back then isn't made anymore so I'm going to give this stuff a shot.

Several times yesterday and today I have had that overwhelmingly wonderful feeling that makes my heart swell and makes me so happy.  The feeling is the "I live in Austin!" feeling.  I can't believe it has almost been a year since the suggestion came up that I might get a job in Austin.  Up until then we had been certain we might retire to the Hill Country but we'd be in the morass known as the Metroplex for thirty more years.  Hallelujah some miracles happen whether you make them happen or not.

I few days I never finished about my Dad and his health problems.  No surgery is for certain yet but it looks as if they will remove his spleen.  I think my mother is pretty freaked out by it although she is always smiling and expecting the best.

I'm glad to get some stuff written.  These things hang around the edges of the brain and bother me a lot.  Now I can peacefully go read the Frank Zappa book I've got going.  Really good stuff!

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland