April 13, 2003 6:32 pm

Terrific Single Sunday

What a wonderful Sunday I am having. Is it a bad sign that I am having such a wonderful BECAUSE my husband is out of town? I don't think so, I just need to learn to enjoy myself and not depend on what he has planned for a day when he is back home.

I slept wonderfully late this morning, waking up and dozing again. I haven't gotten to do that for a very long time. Obligations, appointments, just being too awake to do it have all interfered. I enjoyed it a lot this morning.

I didn't get around to reading the paper, which is a drag, but the day wasn't rushed or obligated so it wasn't like I couldn't, I just found better things to do.

My friend Rocky called at noon, frustrated at her significant other because he wasn't coming to spend Sunday with her as usual and HADN'T LET HER KNOW. I don't blame her for being pissed. It's okay to do your own thing, but when you've set a pattern, it's only polite to inform the other that something has come up. So she was aggravated and wanted to get out. We had a wonderful lunch at Texas Land and Cattle Company and talked and talked. Then we went to Lowe's and I bought some good dirt and a beautiful Japanese maple.

I came home and began my gardening and began pulling a few weeds when B! called. I had e-mailed her suggesting dinner before she went to work this evening. Instead, we met up at Jo's for a cup of coffee and people watching. She unloaded on me all about her frustrations with her aging mother and her nutjob brother. Poor girl.

Now I'm back home and watching the kitties roll around and play on the floor. They are really growing now. They are eating real food, but they haven't quite got the litter box concept down. We are going to have to work on that. All the kitties now have homes---and Ringo will stay with us, it looks like. Miss Toe, the mama kitty, is going to go with Mambo to live in Houston, Turbo and Pinky, our favorites really, are going to live in Dallas together, Willie goes to a listener of mine, Amazing Grace goes to San Antonio to my namesake 5-year-old. We'll be back to just Nathan and Ringo. I think Nathan will get along with Ringo once there isn't a whole houseful of cats to deal with. Nathan is being awfully sweet with me since Mark has gone. I don't know if he is lonely and misses Mark and is therefore more cuddly with me, or if he is mad at Mark for his affection with the kitties and doesn't hold me responsible for them being here.

Yesterday I had a long workday with two remotes. They both went well, but I was tired and cranky and not in the mood to work. And then I was nice and drove all the way to Round Rock from Lakeway to see my little grandmother so I wouldn't feel guilty about needing to visit her today. I took her a corsage my flower lady friend gave me and it was lovely on her.

Last night a girl I work with called and invited me over to drink a beer on the deck with her and her husband and a couple of their friends. I am too damn paranoid when people do that. I always figure they are going to try to pitch me Amway when I get there. It seemed legit except that she may have been trying to sell me on her friend who is a local musician that doesn't get played on my station. I am not sure if that was her aim or not. It was a pleasant time and not too obvious so I'll take it at face value.

I took on a major project last night that made me happy. Looking back on the month Mark will be gone I can at least know I got one thing accomplished. I took everything out of a bathroom closet--the closet I use as my "medicine cabinet" with all my bath things, shampoos, makeup, hair things, lotions, etc. etc. I took every single thing out and sorted and cleaned and threw away a ton of old stuff. I had monkey blood from 15 years ago. When was the last time I put monkey blood on an injury? Probably when I was 7. I threw it away. Good for me!! Good feng shui! Tonight I may tackle the next area (or continue to clean the rest of that bathroom---just because everything that went back into the closet was organized doesn't mean that I didn't leave crap out on the bathroom floor).

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland