April 12, 2002 10:58 pm

Mom and Dad arrive

It is very hot tonight. I am trying to make it without the air conditioning and I'm sure it will begin to cool soon, but right now, at 75 degrees, it is quite toasty warm.

Quick afternoon at work, very enjoyable. Dashed on home in order to see Mom and Dad but they hadn't arrived yet. They were here soon after.

We had a great evening. We went to Driftwood to eat at the Salt Lick. I didn't think the barbeque was the best I'd had there and we didn't eat even ONE second helping of the meat so I don't know if we got our money's worth! But it was fun, the place has great atmosphere and it was wonderful to see the bluebonnets under the oaks on the way out. It was still daylight when we left so we went down to Wimberly and across to San Marcos just to see some more sights of the Hill Country. It was beautiful.

Came on home and watched EdTV. When we got it Dad said we had to turn on TNT. Why? That McConahoy fellow. What movie? He had no idea, just knew he HAD to see that McConahoy fella on TNT. Found it and saw that it was EdTV. I said I had seen it and it was cute. Mom and I were looking at photographs and not paying a lot of attention to it (and I ESPECIALLY made sure I wasn't paying attention when it was talking about erections and penil implants, etc.). When it ended Mom said something about not seeing much of it and Dad said, "You didn't miss much," and he added a snort. That is SO Daddy. Insist on watching it, watch it even though he wasn't enjoying it, and then act as if he had been forced to endure it against his will.

Not long after we got in I got a long LONG distance phone call from Mark in Belgium. It was about 4 a.m. there and they had just come in from a very successful gig--their first of the tour. Nice to hear his voice, but I felt weird talking about insconsequential matters on such an expensive call. I spent most of it telling him how cute his kitty is and how much we miss him.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland