Thursday, Apr. 01, 2004 9:47 am

Sick sick man

April already? I love spring, but the year sure if flying by. And I say that every month, every year.

Yesterday was a sick sick day for my poor sweet husband. He started the day in "evacuate" mode and didn't get over that part until afternoon. I made a mad dash to the grocery store for Sprite and crackers and he was oh so much better when I got home. He'd taken a shower and felt worlds better, as you often do when you get poison of some kind out of your body. Thirty minutes later, though, back to sick and he spent the day in bed. I talked to him in the evening (on his way to a gig... the show must go on) and he said every muscle in body ached. Sounding a lot more like flu than something he ate at that point. When I got home after midnight he was asleep and burning up! I took his temperature and it was 101.3. Sky high. Gave him ibuprofen and we both went to sleep and he's somewhat better this morning, but still weak and washed out. He says he has to go to work. It's not easy to see someone you love so sick!

Not so hard that I didn't go on my merry way partying last night. Of course, he wasn't home and there was nothing I could have really done when he got home anyway. There was a benefit show at the cafe with all the local singer/songwriters. Huge crowd there. I was mainly there to check out the venue to get ready for our shows next week there. It was packed for this and it cost $15 to get in. Our free show is going to be wall-to-wall next week.

The nicest part of my evening was seeing good ol' Double D. He had dropped by the studio for a minute yesterday, too. But last night he was backstage, bored, he'd just found out they weren't going to go onstage for another hour-and-a-half. He had a new CD he wanted me to hear, but we had no CD player. I said, "We could go listen in my car." So we did. It was really nice to sit and listen to every cut and make my comments (I know, I know, I'm not doing that anymore, but for him, I make an exception). We talked and talked, too. He is so different with me than all the other musicians and we talked about that, too. He had had a friendship with a radio person at one time and the minute his record label dropped him, the friendship ended. We both agreed that ours is a lot more than the business connection and it is a very nice thing.

Talked a long time to a favorite fiddle player and his fiance and they want me to come to their wedding, which is flattering.

After the cafe I went to the Spoke and participated some in the birthday celebration there for Lefty. My friend/teacher organizes it. I just did a couple of introductions there. Met a really interesting guy that has lived in Austin a long time and he had lots of great stories to tell and trivia for my show.

I am QUITE behind at work this week and these nights out haven't helped be catch up. Today I've got to get serious about a lot of it. What will be fun (I hope) today is talking to Tim McGraw. He's going to be on the phone with me promoting his big show on the river shores next week.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland