April 26, 2002 1:07 am

Sandy visits

My anniversary continued to be very nice yesterday with another call from Mark after his 700 mile journey from southern Germany to Copenhagen. He made it safely after 14 hours on the road and called me at the office yesterday.

My friend Sandy arrived last night and we had a a short overnight visit. The coolest thing happened, the perfect thing to impress her about Austin (not that she needed impressing---she's quite aware that Austin is tres cool): We went to dinner at a little Thai place I like, very utilitarian but great food. Only us and a couple of other tables of people there. Who is at one of them? Joe Ely and Jimmie Dale Gilmore and their wives and Joe's son. Very cool.

We went by Hill's Cafe after for a quick moment of Steve Fromholz under the oaks, then home and to bed. Today we ate lunch at the Magnolia and she was on her way. Just about the right length of a visit from her.

Tonight I worked at the cafe again and it was not as chaotic or horrible as last Thursday. I'm still tired but it isn't pure exhuastion. I enjoyed actually getting to talk to some of my customers through the night too: Women from NC, Cal., and OH, probably in town on business; men in a group called the Law Men that play country music at assisted living centers; and, the usual people who run you ragged then tip 10%, but that is to be expected. I made half the tips I made last Thursday, but I bet I made more per person than last week. I still am on the verge of quitting, just haven't gotten up the courage to do it yet. I think I'm waiting for someone (WHO?) to say, "Yes, you should."

More drama around the radio ranch today too. It seems that I am being passed over on getting to do remotes and making some big money. I put in an official request today for remotes and if I don't have one for next weekend I believe I'll be registering some complaints with the higher ups.

A friend generously offered to fly me to go to see Mark. I turned it down. No money to spare, no need to not earn money here, he's with an unfamiliar band, he'll be home soon anyway. Very nice friend thing to do.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland