April 22, 2002 6:06 pm

Busy weekend catchup

When I am not updating the diary it is usually because of one of two reasons: 1.) I am living an absolutely dull life and there is nothing to report except that I got up and went to work and came home and watched TV and maybe I'll write about what I ate, or 2.) I'm so freaking busy there is not a minute to write, or when there is a minute, I'm too exhausted to look at a screen.

These last few days have been more of #2 then #1, and I mean that literally and quite figuratively.

I worked at the cafe after work at the doctor's office both Thursday and Friday. Thursday night I was scheduled to work on the patio and it was a madhouse and I had a million tables and people and I worked incredibly hard and was ready to hand in my notice that night. Then I counted my tips and decided maybe I shouldn't quit my highest paying job. On Friday I was so damn tired, sore, beat, that I only dragged through the day knowing that I wouldn't be working on the patio that night. I called ahead when I was on the road to work since I was running late and found that I would be working on the patio again. God, I almost cried. Again, it was a madhouse, I had more tables than a section ever has and several of the tables had pulled up extra chairs for friends. I was ready to quit all night long. This time when I counted my tips (about half what I made the night before), I wasn't that inclined to continue. I didn't quit then and I'm still debating it. I'm still sore three days later.

And I'm still dragging. Yesterday was going to be a great day of rest and relaxation. Absolutely no job-type work scheduled, my first and only Sunday home alone since Mark left on tour, I was ready to relish the day. I had breakfast tacos at a new place and went to Sam's. I bought lots of staples and was heading for home when I got the call that my in-laws changed their plan and they were coming then instead of a day later. I almost cried....lots of almost crying lately, isn't there?

I had to rush home and put away the Sam's things and clean clean clean (these are in-laws, mind you, not family!). They got here and they took me for a nice late birthday dinner at Landry's. They are not difficult company but it does become more difficult when I have to entertain them all by myself.

We went to bed early last night, which was a relief, but Nathan hadn't come home from his catting around. I woke up at 2 a.m. and didn't go back to sleep until about 6. Nathan finally showed up at 7 a.m. with sleepy eyes and a look that said, "Man, I'm crashing, wake me up for lunch." That kitty is SO grounded today. He will not have a chance to be out late tonight.

After the in-laws left this morning I slept another hour or two before work, but I'm dragging tonight. I'm going to a neighbor's for some wine in a bit and to sit on the patio and enjoy the evening, but I will be crashing early again tonight and I hope I'll be sleeping through the night.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland