Saturday, Apr. 18, 2009 12:59 pm

M&M Drama and Rain

At the lunch on Tuesday, M&M did tell me that she had the redhead working at her place on some stuff. I think she was hesitant to tell me, like I would feel slighted, but I was thrilled. I told her if the redhead could take care of the new Republic stuff, I would continue on with the series stuff that is being left undone as of the moment. So that has kept my phones quieter this week, thank goodness.

But the real shit hit the fan on Wednesday and makes me want to distance myself from her even further. We met for coffee to catch up. I had questions about the series and bookings that never got answered. First, things went nuts because she got the email that Joe Ely couldn't play her big show. She had started advertisements and just "knew" it was going to happen, but it didn't. So we spent the whole fucking hour going, "Who else could we get?" and her shooting down all of my possibilities and calling agents about all the ones she thought about. Of course, she was also calling agents asking them "Who do you have?" which throws some of the not-ready-for-prime-time-players into the mix. On and on and on she's on the phone and freaking out and we are accomplishing nothing besides this. I realize it is a crisis and she needs to find someone, but I wish we could have diverted attention for 10 minutes elsewhere and then split and let her go solve her problem (I'm a terrible employee--- I don't want to solve her problems). But then, while she's freaking out, her phone rings. It is the sound guy Ron. She says, Oh it is Ron. He's been calling me and I don't want to talk to him. He's not doing our sound. ... Then I realize that she was using this other sound company and I hadn't thought about our good loyal friends that she apparently had told they would be doing this series for her. 30 minutes later I am back home and Ron calls me. I do not duck his call and I answer. I tell him the truth. He is so mad. He had already heard it from competing sound companies that had also big on the project, but he was mad that she hadn't told him. I do not blame him. And he had spent some money to get ready for her shows too. She really bit the hand on this one.

Later, Mark comes home from work and gives me the other side of the story and how mad the guys are at her for this and how those two guys (that have their separate sound company) are NEVER going to do work for her again. I really would like to see them stick to that because it never seems to matter to her and she always gets out of these scraped smelling like a rose.... Like the Joe Ely cancellation after she'd placed ads etc. Next day, she had me email the agent and say, Well, thanks for trying. And he came back and said Joe would do it. So it is like it never even happened.

Then I work with Jennifer of Thursday and she was also cut out of the deal since she was going to run the sound at the show and she's unhappy because she lots six solid gigs and she needs the dough. Bums me out a lot to be associated with such a blatant user that means no harm, but leaves a wake of destruction that she doesn't even notice. (okay maybe not a wake of destruction, but more ill will than she ever realizes).

Total change of gears... I sent a Facebook message to Bryan today and thought, Crap, now he will call me. I don't like talking on the phone to ANYONE, but he is especially bad because he talks forever, he never asks me about my life at all, but mostly because he talks SO fast that I cannot understand him on the phone. Sure enough, five minutes later, the house phone rings and then my cell phone rings, too. I had even put in the message that I was WORKING today and about to knuckle down to this big project.

That is true (I don't lie) because I am going to work on another project for the music company that will be worthwhile. I'm glad since the typing isn't paying too much. Maybe $70 this week? I guess it is going up. I did learn a new place and I got a new pedal that is supposed to allow me into the third place to work on their stuff too. I will try to get to the pedal today and see if it works.

We did have a good first show with McMurtry at the Grove. So fun to be around the manager and staff and our sound people. Not so fun to continue to have to shoo vultures away from the tables and to deal with nut jobs. But the band and their families were nice and my friends Frenchy and a paralegal from the office came and sat with me and that was nice. We had the threat of rain and sound police, but only a little bit of rain happened.

Joey texted me to see if I wanted to go to dinner Thursday night. I said no, thinking I would be worn out after my gig, but he said he is leaving Tuesday morning to go to Singapore for 4 weeks so I quickly decided that tired or not, I would have dinner. We went to Kerbey Lane and it was very nice to visit and catch up before he is gone. He'll be working on a rig there, but it isn't ready to move yet so he'll come home before it starts toward the Gulf. When it does start moving, it has to go through waters that are being taken over by pirates and that is the big news these days. Scary considering how valuable those rigs are and how slowly they move. Pirates could easily target them, I expect.

Yesterday, Friday, the rains REALLY came and it was fabulous. Mark, though, had to go work a show at the San Antonio Oyster Bake and it was a LONG wet miserable day. For me, I stayed in and worked and typed and enjoyed the rain falling. I worked pretty solid on the typing from 5 to 9 with just the first doctor, so it is coming along and there is more typing to be done. I wonder what happens when there is too much? I also talked on the phone for the first time with my aunt's neighbor who owns the company. She called with an emergency and we had a nice visit.

I think I'll go shower and get dressed and start my day. Eat something too. Mark is going to be leaving for his gig in Denton tonight. Lots of me would like to go with him, but there is lots to be done here, too, and I don't want to start the week worn out (I hate to even think about Monday rolling around).

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland