Tuesday, Apr. 17, 2007 10:52 am

My safe mundane world

I hate to start with the dull and mundane in my world when horrible things are happening out there in the real world, but that is where my mind is this morning, with the dull and mundane. I got my taxes picked up this morning. My tax guy was able to finish them and we don't owe too much, so I will get them paid and hopefully no one will audit them or ask how we came up with some of these numbers. I wish the government would simplify the whole tax system. Is that really too much to ask?

More dull and mundane (and safe and peaceful)... I worked on the quilt a lot last night. Today I went to buy some more material and the material doesn't quite match what I was doing. I may let them not match, or redo what I've done, or go by Hobby Lobby and see if they have matching. I also bought myself a rotary cutter to make these last parts a little easier.

It is raining softly this morning and everything is cool and green.

Now, out there in the real world, there was a horrible shooting yesterday on the Virginia Tech campus. A gunman killed 32 people, mostly students. This is the school in my listening area of my Virginia station. Just horrifying. And hard to fathom, really. The news goes over it and over it and over it and they have no information or anything to add so they continue to go back to this being the WORST shooting ever, the most deaths ever, and I'm so afraid that someone is thinking "I can beat that." They, of course, keep showing the Tower shooting at UT and even the Killeen Luby's shooting in 91. I know people are craving news on this story, but there doesn't appear to be any news, so I wish they would go to some other story for a just a bit and not keep returning to these violent images. I feel like they wish someone had had a cell phone video while the shootings were happening. I hurt for the parents and brothers and sisters and AUNTS of all these kids. I called my nephew last night, just to let him know I love him and make sure he is okay.

I didn't go out last night. I woke up with lots of congestion and coughing, but I've taken something and that has calmed down considerably. We are going to M&M's for dinner tonight. That should be fun.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland