1999-11-19 02:01:58

Lost and confused

For some reason I am watching "Who Wants to Be a Millionaire" on tape (I swear I don't know why I taped it)and I'm marveling at some people's stupidity. Why would someone not know who wrote Poor Richard's Almanac? I am not the smartest person in the world and I sure don't know the answer to all the questions they have, but, good Lord, that is such a basic fact that is taught in school forever. If you're reading this and you don't know who it is, and, no, I'm not even going to give you multiple choice, you'd better go look it up.

Speaking of looking things up, have you looked at Britannica.com? Cool site. I've been an encyclopedia reader my whole life but the site is way cool. I put in Amarillo, my hometown, just on a lark and besides getting the regular info about Amarillo it had websites and magazine articles. Lo and behold, I ended up reading a Columbia Journalism Review article about my old newspaper editor from my college days. I knew where he lived and worked now but hadn't thought about looking him up on the internet. I might drop him an e-mail some day just to let him know his instincts were right and I didn't belong in the newspaper business.

I have no business sitting here writing. I have too much to do but I am in a quandary. I am going to Dallas tomorrow and I need to pack and clean house and sleep! But I keep thinking about work. I'm going to have to go to the office in the morning to take care of some loose ends. I am going to be left with a shitload of work for next week. It will be worse because of the holiday. I'll have to record about 40 shows in three days. I'll probably end up going in Sunday night and trying to get ahead. I could just work regular hours tomorrow and then Sunday would be clear but I'd rather get out of here early tomorrow. I am stuck. It didn't help that I had several new shifts thrown at me today for someone going on vacation for a week.

I also need to get my speech written for Papa's birthday party Saturday. I've got it together a little but there is a lot to be done. It isn't a long speech but I want it to be clever and moving. I have a bad tendency to get great ideas and have lots of things rolling around in my head. I get it down on paper and it could be good with refinement and polish but I procrastinate so long it isn't at its best. Let's see, I'm going to be reading this in front of the family in 36 hours and what am I doing? I'm writing online.

I think I'll go to bed. Sleep is always a great escape.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland