Veteran's Day 11-11-99 13:34:12

I'm Yam Happy

Yes, I wrote FOR my journal last night but only enough to e-mail to myself. This is what I wrote then:

THE BEST LAID PLANS

I had several great topics to discuss and pontificate on: I'm fat, my family, the dogs, the heat, the great meal I ate today (thus adding to the feeling fat), etc. And then tonight D-boy dominates the computer for hours perfecting a logo for the band---not creating one, mind you, just critiqueing the one the keyboard player has designed. E-mails back and forth, long discussions on the phone, more work and another e-mail.

*******

So I got that off my chest and now I'll move on. I wonder if we've come to the time that we need to be a two computer family? Yes, I could have written all I wanted on the laptop (without internet access) and moved it later so I really have no good excuse.

I do have to backtrack to the fabulous meal I ate yesterday. Last year we came to Austin in November for some reason and ate at Drummerboy's favorite restaurant, Threadgill's (the south location). One of the veggies was candied yams and they were out of this world good. Perfectly glazed, perfectly soft and warm, perfectly sweet. I had to have two helpings and if I had had room for more I could have eaten platefuls. I have dreamed of those sweet potatoes for months.

We moved to Austin in May and we've probably eaten at Threadgill's 30 times since then. I always walk in, hoping to see "Candied Yams" on the chalkboard menu. All summer long there was the "veggies that wouldn't leave": the green beans and asparagus. Every trip to Threadgill's I'd have the anticipation and then the let down when I saw that, once again, the beans and asparagus ruled the chalkboard.

A month or so ago I even asked the manager when they would get rid of the green beans and asparagus and he patiently explained that they use whatever the freshest vegetables are and, of course, the yams would be on the menu around Thanksgiving. I encouraged him to think "Halloween yams" but I could tell by the benign nod that he wasn't listening.

As you have guessed, we walked into Threadgill's yesterday and the first thing I saw were those wonderful words "candied yams" on the chalkboard. I did my happy yam dance, which closely resembles Steve Martin's happy feet or maybe Snoopy's little dance. The host looked at me as if I'm insane but also with humor. He's been our waiter before and he has a fun sense of humor.

There was no decision making process except for what second vegetable to choose. No sense having two helpings of yams since they give seconds on the vegetables anyway.

Turkey and dressing, with cranberry sauce, salad with the jalapeno honey mustard dressing and yams, glorious yams. They were as perfect as they were that first time. I have had them once since I discovered them and they were not up to the perfection level the first ones were so I am so happy these equaled, if not exceeded, those first sweet soft yams.

Okay, I'm through effusing over a food. But, run, don't walk, to your closest Threadgill's and try them and see if you don't agree: Those yams is GOOOOOODDDDD!

All afternoon I felt as fat as a tick (as my grandmother would say) but that didn't stop me from eating Hershey's Kisses that were laying around available at work and getting a horrible Wendy's hamburger for dinner that I didn't even want. I wondered if I was paying for the sin of yam gluttony and lust.

I got a sort of promotion at work this week. Briefly, I do radio shows in advance, I prerecord the voice part. If you were listening you would never know I'm not on the air live unless you maybe noticed I didn't talk about the Cowboys game or the World Series until a couple of days after the fact. I doubt if anyone notices.

This week I got moved from an all-night shift in one East Texas town to the night shift. It cuts the time I'm on the air (and hopefully, the time it takes to record it) and I lost two long boring weekend shifts, too. It will take a little learning time to get comfortable with the night shift and I'll have to do a better job on it since it is more high profile, but I'm flattered to be bumped up and thrilled to lose a couple of weekend shifts.

The D-boy is on his way home from lunch. I'd better get dressed and pretend I haven't spent the last two hours online.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland