Tuesday, Dec. 06, 2005 9:55 am

In-laws move on...

Last night I took the in-laws to Hill's for salads for dinner. Slow service, but the salads were really good. They've improved that part of the menu, for sure. We headed on out to the east side and had a great time. They were amazed and impressed as we are at the variety of people and the characters you can enjoy for a few hours. Mark's A-team wasn't playing. Funny, the second guitar player wanted a night off. What did he do on his night off? He came to the east side and played!? I guess he may have left soon after and went on to Antone's or something else, but I thought it was hilarious and very musician-like to take a night off and then be there. They would have been better if he had played the whole night, although the sub, who is my friend and is an excellent player, did a great job, too.

The in-laws only made it to about 1130 and we split. I took through downtown to see the Capitol and its tree and the lights down Congress. Very pretty.

Got home and I showed them my accordions. They were impressed. I didn't play anything more than a 12 bar blues, but they liked that, too. My dad-in-law says he bought an accordion at a flea market, but after seeing mine he thinks his may just be a child's accordion.

We all went to bed, but it took me hours to get my bed right. I layered blankets underneath me and still felt like I was sleeping on a block of ice. I gave up and put all my blankets on the floor, but it was cold, too, AND hard, so I went back to the air mattress. I ended up with four layers underneath me, along with the mattress protector and my heavy thick pajamas, and finally managed to go to sleep. And I slept hard, I guess, because it surprised me when the company was at our door saying goodbye. They left early and are on their way to Dallas today.

Mark was going to cancel the maids today, but he forgot, so we need to get the house ready for them (which mainly just means putting the blankets and stuff away). They will have an easy job of it today because we certainly cleaned everything up good on Sunday. At least they will change my sheets and I come come home to a clean bed tonight.

I need to start getting cleaned up and preparing for my trip to the Gov's mansion! I hope what I've chosen to wear isn't torn or stained or something. I would be in a fix. I'm tired of everyone saying "What are you going to wear?" I am just not the kind of person that thinks that way. Yes, of course I considered my wardrobe soon after I was asked, but it just isn't that big of a priority to me and now everyone is making me feel like I should go out and spend $100 on something to wear for one party.

RADIO STORY #3

This will be a short one, but I need to get some more in here.

This one is not about me, per se, but is still one I love.

The GM at my second station had been a disc jockey and worked his way up to ownership, eventually. When he was a young man, he got a job in Amarillo and was driving into town (from where, I don't remember, but not too far away). He was listening to the station to get a feel for it and he heard the disc jockey on the air promoting "Jay Whiz." This Jay Whiz was going to be on the air soon, apparently. The young GM thought "Jay Whiz, that is the stupidest air name I've ever heard!" Then he got to the station to find out that HE was Jay Whiz. I don't know how long he remained on the air with that airname, but sometimes that's how airnames get started. Sometimes, too, the station owns the name so that if you quit and leave, you can't take your fame and your name with you, you have to start over.

When I was starting in college, I had a tough time saying my own last name. Isn't that weird? I'd said for 19 years (give or take a year or two at the beginning, I guess) and it came out mushy, so the jocks I worked with at the college station said, "Just use your first name, lots of girls are doing that." So I just used my first name.

I worked that way for a couple of years and then when I went to mornings, we would say my name occasionally, but it wasn't that big of a deal. Eventually, it got easier to say and I got used to everything in the radio world and I used it more and more. I think my station in Dallas was the first that MADE me use both first and last names. I have always used my real name.

Well, until I got married. When I got married and my legal name changed, I still used my maiden name on the air. I've never used my married name on the air except in Dallas on one station. I was the traffic reporter for KKDA, a great AM black station. The jock in the afternoons was Cousin Linnie, a great man. I was working with him all through the courtship and marriage and he came to the wedding. On the air the day I got back from the honeymoon he started using all three of my names, so I did use it, not on purpose, there for a short while.

I didn't intend to get off on my names, just tell the quick story of Jay Whiz. Sometimes I wish I had found a cool airname to use all along the way, but it gets difficult to have two completely different names. I'm glad my driver's license shows them all.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland