Saturday, Nov. 13, 2010 11:05 am

Now I'm Sick

I'm really sick now. So sick I am not going to go to Mark's gig with him in Bandera. I hate to miss the drive out with him, but I won't miss sitting for hours while I don't feel well. Smarter to stay home and rest.

I got my teeth cleaned at the dentist and enjoyed my visit with all of them there a lot. Sweet fun people, especially the women. Makes me want to go back. May have influenced my decision to re-up my dental insurance, too. I looked at it again and decided maybe it wasn't too much to pay for a couple of cleanings a year (if we'll get them) and troubles if they come along, too.

I did have to go home from work sick on Thursday afternoon. The dreaded menopausal period hit and knocked my head into a brick wall. Pain started in the morning and grew and grew despite all drugs. At work I was listening to rock songs for this damn bar and grill in NC and the pounding got worse and I finally knew I was done for an couldn't manage another lick of work, not even pushing a piece of paper. I bailed and went home and took a Vicodin and slept for 3 hours. Mark was sweet and brought home a gallon of milk and a sack of Sonic hamburgers so I wouldn't have to get up to get dinner.

I was back at work yesterday and had my first monthly meeting with my nice immediate boss. She and I had a good visit and everything seems to be going fine in my job. Then we went out to the lunch that we had planned to go to but she had cancelled. Confusing, but we were going to do these meetings at lunch and then she said she couldn't, apparently because her boss wanted to go to lunch, but then he got pressed for time so they postponed so then she took me and the audio girl to lunch and even bought out lunch, so that was very nice. Very.

I thought we were going to meet with the damn bar and grill in NC by phone, but that didn't happen. I'm just going to quit stressing about these things (as if I could, but I'm going to try to remember this).

After work yesterday, some of the messaging and design departments went and got a beer at Donn's. We haven't done that in maybe 9 months. It has been a long time and I really enjoyed it. I miss those guys that I don't see much anymore. They are funny. We shared a couple of beers and then I had to still go up north to voicetrack. But, with traffic down to nothing I was up there in 20 minutes and I worked pretty quickly and was out of there well before 9. All in all, it probably took about the same amount of time as usual altogether so I may as well relax and have a beer before I go, right?

The CMA awards were this week and Miranda Lambert ran the table and took all that she could. Brad Paisley got entertainer of the year, which made us proud of him. Blake Shelton surprised everyone and got male vocalist. That's probably one we'll look back on in 10 years and say, Really? Not a great show, but okay. Of course I was sick and we were watching it in pieces because Mark had company that night, so we didn't have our usual banter.

Found out two of my co-workers found out they are cousins. I love that stuff. But what makes it even more fascinating is that one is black and one is white. And they are direct descendants of the same guy and the black slave. Interesting. I'd like to get more of the details and write in my other blog about it. I keep thinking of starting yet another blog that is completely genealogy, but I don't think I could keep them all up (or any one of them apparently).

I must do some thinking about Thanksgiving today and how I'm going to get the meal prepared for that day. We'll have company and I need another table and there is lots to think about between now and then.

Mark's on the phone with the best man. They have such an interesting dynamic with him. They have argued vehemently about drugs just now. Fun to hear him describing tonight's gig and band and stuff, too.

Oh and B had a birthday this week and is 23 now. Hard to believe he's a truly grown man! I texted with him, but haven't sent him a card or gift or talked to him at all. I guess I'll save it for Thanksgiving (if I buy it by then, that is).

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland