January 04, 2002 11:40 pm

Slightly brighter

Things are brighter tonight by some degree. Mark did come home last night sometime and after a lot of not speaking today we got a lot of things cleared up tonight.

Now our big topic of discussion is the trip to Hawaii in March. My parents are celebrating their 50th wedding anniversary in March and rather than have a party they want to take the entire family on a cruise around Hawaii. Of course that involves a flight TO Hawaii and that is the rub. Mark is afraid of flying and has been for a long time. I got him on a plane to Hawaii in '97 when my friend lived there and he enjoyed the trip despite the flights. Now, of course, post-September 11, he is more jittery than ever and sees no reason to ever fly again. I am no great lover of flying but I know there are many wonderful places in the world that cannot be seen without flying. I don't need to see them all, I don't want to be a world traveler and fly on every vacation, but I think this is an important celebration, a generous gift and will be a fun time. I expect that he will go but it won't ever be a fun trip that we can talk about and anticipate since he is so scared about terrorism, bolts coming loose, etc. I try to tell him that he is in more danger after a few whiskeys and driving home which he does too often but he cannot fathom how I can logically think that.

Today was a long frustrating day at work. Mostly hangover frustration from last night causing me troubles (emotional hangover) but the list of tasks to be done seemed endless today. When I got to the last thing on the list, the thing that would take thirty minutes and set me free for the weekend---I couldn't do it because the boss hadn't done what he has to do before I can do it. Aggravating to have to return to work over the weekend to do it and aggravating because I probably could have left work a couple of hours earlier and come home and done a little more when I go back up there tomorrow.

I haven't had a nap today but I'm trying not to crash too early since it is the weekend. I don't want to wake up at 3:30.

Today I did come home and made an acupuncture appointment for Monday, a medical doctor appointment for Thursday and I got a list of counseling providers under our insurance. I'll have to make that appointment Monday, but I hope I do. I'm not as bad off as I have been in the past but it's getting there.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland