Tuesday, Jan. 15, 2013 9:31 am

2013 commences

First entry of the new year? It won't be much, I expect.

But I am sitting here on this FREEZING cold morning (okay, it may truly be about 33 and not actually freezing) with my heater keeping this room warm, silence all through the house, and Phil the Cat here by the computer curled up and asleep with his little paw on my knee. And Flaco in the windowsill. Willie probably off on his drum. It is a nice place to be. I wish I could stay here a while. I woke up with a splitting sinus headache and told the powers that be that I would be a little late this morning as I wait for it to clear. It is better, just a dull ache.

The year had been just the way I like it so far: uneventful. Mark has had some interesting gigs -- playing with Cornell and working with B.B. King Sunday, but I have mostly just shuffled between work and home and done my usual dull things that I do love so much. I've had a lot of naps right after work that then make me stay up late into the night. Not a good way to do it, but without the nap I certainly wouldn't be productive and couldn't get the typing and the radio done.

I had a productive weekend where I threw out old confectioner's sugar and nuts and dried fruits that had accumulated in the baking cabinet and I know will never get used. All were old or dated or the stuff I buy new anyway. I found where I had lots of things in double quantities (spices) and I put the duplicates in a different place to cut down on the clutter there on the shelf. I threw away socks that don't make me happy. I restrung necklaces and fixed clasps so I have more jewelry to wear. I cleaned the bathroom shelves again. Small pieces of productivity, but they make me happy.

Meanwhile, Christmas is packed away and I sorted through the old Christmas stuff, too, and threw away a lot, but the tree and lights are still up. We are still enjoying them and just hate to put it away. I know I will. Soon. But it is so pleasant! I want to remember that in October and get it down and put it up sooner and enjoy it even longer, even without the ornaments, like I did so much of this year.

I need to get back to my "3 things" and having those 3 accomplishments whether I do anything else or not. I guess one is just getting dressed and making it to work today, sadly. There are so many things I need to do, but I hate to commit to them because I have a feeling I would just let them slide, even if they were on my list. How about one of my things is: make the list of things that I truly do need and want to get done soon. Okay, that's 2. And third -- this really is a task that I don't want to do but it needs to be done--see what I can do about a home equity loan for our home repairs. Mark has been asking about it and we need it in order to do the bathroom, so I will try to make something happen on that. Okay. That's my 3 things and now I am going to try to do #1 before I fall back into bed and lose one of my days off.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland