Thursday, Oct. 12, 2006 10:10 am

I'm a WINNER

I'm so relieved.... and so excited! Mark and I went to the Best of Austin party last night. There was a little panic as the people from the Chronicle looked under every letter in the alphabet and couldn't find my award. They went ahead and gave me my t-shirt and other gifties and I waited anxiously. Finally, they said they couldn't find the certificate, but they would get one to me and they could tell me what I'd won. Yes, please do that! I was named "Sweetheart of the Radio." How nice is that? The little writeup was very sweet and complimentary. I was just glowing.

Mark and I got a drink and hung around a little bit. I saw Kate, who will be on my show this afternoon to talk about these awards. And I saw John Kelso and some TV people. I introduced myself to Mike Barnes of KVUE who does the Texas Tailgaters show. I saw Ray Benson and talked to him a minute. Mark saw a drummer he knew and visited with him. Other than that, we didn't know who to hang with and what to do. The food line was really long and it was just snack foods, so we decided to split and have a celebratory dinner, so we went to Vivo on Manor. So romantic and nice. It was really fun to have such a nice night with Mark. That was what truly made it special. I am so glad he had the evening off and could do it with me.

So today I go to work glowing from this award. I heard them talk about it a little bit this morning and they didn't say anything derogatory, which is good.

And my other great news of the night... my company isn't coming on Sunday. That is great news. I can relax and enjoy my nephew's visit today and then enjoy my friend's wedding on Sunday without having their visit looming. I really want to see them and look forward to a visit sometime, but now sure seemed to be getting hectic.

Lots to do today to get ready for tomorrow's big broadcast. I will attempt to get to work early (for that and for the praise and adulation!).

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland