Wednesday, May. 21, 2008 11:11 am

Office Space

Wow, this morning is already getting away from me after we stayed up late to see the last "singing" show of American Idol for the year. This year it it is the "Davids" and their boxing match analogy got very tiresome before it was all over. I had called it for Cook a few weeks ago, but I think Archuleta was better and I think usually the better one does win. I don't care any more this year than I did last year and I won't be buying an album from either one of them. I'm afraid Archuleta is going to burn out fast because of the neuroses his father has inflicted on him, poor child. But if he doesn't win it could be even worse. That child is abused, I'm afraid, by his stage father. Just an opinion, what do I know?

I talked to KP a little yesterday afternoon about my neuroses about this record promotion thing. He was sweet and understanding and said they won't blame me if all of this falls through. I got another email from a radio girl I once knew of and that makes me feel better about things. I need to get a shitload of other emails out at least.

M&M and I went to see our new office space. Cons? The tight squeeze parking garage, having to move at all and get it set up, that clothes issue I worry about. The pros? Having a parking spot waiting for me at all will be nice, it will be great to have the ability to work later than M&M does AND not have to share a computer or a desk, being downtown. The view is amazing from that 15th floor window. And it will be great to have a postage meter available to me and save the trips to the P.O. Hooray. I need to go back and look at the list I made of "the ideal job" requirements because this job is meeting a whole lot of them, I think.

I went out with B! last night for dinner at Vinny's. We talked there for a while, but it was cold inside so we went out and sat on the tailgate of her car for hours and hours, visiting, long past the restaurant closing. It was very pleasant. She seems happy with her boyfriend and that's good. I still see some signs of delusion, but, then, maybe we all have a lot of that. She is talking about buying a house, but then decides that she wants to buy it with him, mainly on the hopes(?) that he will live there with her and eventually give up the house he's lived in for 30+ years? I don't even know the guy, but he is so unmovable, according to her, I don't know if that will happen. But then, maybe that will make for a better relationship for them to keep living separately, I will stay out of it. I did enjoy the visit and she only rolled her eyes once, I think, and irritated me (she has a bad habit-- in my view --of rolling her eyes when you say something completely normal, making you feel like your life is viewed as dorky or uncool or dull or something).

Today is more catch-up and get-ahead at M&Ms. If we are going to be spending our time working next week, I want to get ahead so that next week's job is done, and I'm out Monday and Tuesday for holiday, too, so that week is incredibly short to begin with. She leaves town tomorrow morning so for the next two days I will be able to really work long hours if I want to (but I will have to be at the venue tomorrow, too, so that cuts the day short).

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland