Sunday, Mar. 27, 2005 5:52 pm

-

I've been looking back to see what I did on past Easters. I had forgotten that my sister and her family were here last year on Easter, too, and it was wet and cold and miserable. It's a trend. A trend I could do without.

The family got here Friday night. I had asked listeners about the German beer hall downtown. I had decided that would be a great outing for dinner. I've been there, but never for food. The listeners said the service is slow, but the food is fabulous. My sister calls from the road and they are planning to stop in New Braunfels and eat German. No! Wait for me. So they eat something else and we all get together Friday night and go downtown. I had figured with the college kids gone for Easter that the place would be quiet and perfect. I hadn't taken into consideration the basketball NCAA stuff going on down the street. The place wasn't packed, but the big screen TVs were blaring basketball and people were milling and drinking beer. I seat the family and go to get instructions about a waitress or whatever. No, no German food tonight. Crap. I was unhappy. Mark always has a disgusted grunt and look like I've made a stupid mistake that has taken moments from his life. So, the family gathers and we move on to the Brick Oven downtown which was very good. And it started pouring rain minutes after we were inside so it was just as well that we weren't sitting outside in a beer garden.

We laughed and laughed during dinner. I don't get to do that nearly often enough. The funniest was when the ticket arrived and the waiter gave it to my brother-in-law. I said, "Give that to me, I'd like to pay." He said, No, he would pay. My sister backhands him and says, "Give it to her." He does. I said, "I'm not supposed to end up with it! I'm only supposed to politely offer to pay but you insist!" We laughed and laughed. The boys were funny, too. I don't recall their comments, but they have a great sense of humor and were so quick.

Saturday we all had Mexican food for lunch. Mark went on to work and we went to look at the St. Ed's campus for my older nephew, graduating next year from high school. The view of downtown is amazing from the front steps of Old Main. I hadn't really seen it from that perspective. Beautiful. But clouds and wind and cold were making it less than fun and rain was imminent. I left them and they went on home and I went to my remote in Lakeway.

I dragged through the rest of the afternoon. I was so exhausted. Glad when things ended out there even though it was a good day and I came home with TONS of beautiful flowers from the lady there and a listener, too.

Slept a long time and then we watched a movie. Then watched the special features of Spinal Tap. There's like a whole extra movie in cut scenes. Hilarious.

Today I've been bummed and worn out. I think I've got something coming on. I'm coughing too much and crap is coming up when I do cough. I had wanted to do something for Easter... like go look at bluebonnets or something. I gave Mark a reprieve when yesterday was so bad and we knew today would be cold and said we didn't have to do that. He was relieved. He's been working on drums. We did go eat Mexican food together. I slept through most of the afternoon.

I aggravate myself because I am so boring. I don't know what to do with a day off. Projects that seem interesting when I'm at work and I just need time at home to concentrate on them are suddenly boring, too, and I don't even start in on them. I hope this feeling is just from the whatever is settling in my sinus cavities and not something deeper and darker. I've wasted another weekend.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland