2000-03-11 00:54:54

Friday after drinking

I should turn the radio station and listen to myself on K*** tonight but I'm too lazy and KGSR is playing a good Santana song so I'll stick with it. I know for sure I won't be playing any Santana on K***. I also don't want to hear my weather forecasts for Austin. I recorded the show yesterday and I don't think I had a clue how windy and stormy it was going to be right now.

It's past midnight and I must get my bags packed to head to Dallas in the morning. I am so unenthusiastic about this trip. I'm looking forward to the sister, parents and nephews but this little cousin's wedding is low priority. Her family all came sweetly to mine bearing gifts so I must do it for her. Their family loves me to pieces so I must keep up the connection. This little cousin's great-grandmother and my grandfather were brother and sister. Aunt Det was the sweetest, most fun Aunt in the world. I was very close to her in her later years and was heartsick when she died.

I really had fun tonight. It is weird to have so much fun with co-workers. I haven't enjoyed going out and drinking and being with friends this much since maybe 1993 if not 1984. Let's just say it has been a while. Good ol' Hondo, that I have described here before with his long hair, tattoos, earrings and irresistable charm, is moving to Phoenix. He will be missed so much. He was never in a bad mood, never down, always hyper, always fun. I hope he comes back eventually. He would have a job in a minute with us again. Of course, he almost lost a gig yesterday when he something about getting a hummer on one of his stations. Oh, well, he's gone now and they can't be critical. Hondo had absolutely no filter between his brain and his mouth and anything he was thinking came out of his mouth.

The "Loudmouth" was there tonight. I've not mentioned her before. She can be very nice but when she's had a little to drink she can become incredibly obnoxious. I'd love to go into great detail about her comments, her lack of grace, etc., but things like this could come back to haunt me, I'm sure. There's not a person there tonight that wouldn't know who I was referring to.

One of my co-workers began unloading on me about his less-than-happy relationship with his wife of eight years. I never quite know what to do when a man does that. I know in the past it has gotten me into some big trouble! Tonight I let him unload a little and wished I could shake him and make him realize what a wonderful wife he has. He is on his first marriage at almost fifty and I believe that makes a big difference in how you relate.

Heard lots of good office gossip when the beers were flowing. That's the best part of these get-togethers. I think I am circumspect and don't start spilling what I know but I love to absorb what everyone else is willing to share. This girl is sleeping with this guy and he says they have an "arrangement" but according to others she is distancing herself from him and has another main squeeze now. I have never understood the ability of some to just have sex with someone just because they want to have sex (or at least I don't understand that on a continuing basis).

My birthday is rapidly approaching. Don't feel any of my old excitement or anticipation about it at all. I am surprised when I look at the calendar and see that it is mid-March. I should be spreading the word that it is my birthday and everyone should be sending cards and presents! This year I really hope it is very low-key. I'd love a sweet, romantic dinner with my husband but I expect that that won't be in the cards.

I am looking forward to seeing one of my oldest dearest friends this week. I can't remember the last time I saw him. Maybe just over two years ago in Amarillo. He's coming to Austin for the SXSW conference. It will be fun to take him to some of my favorite Mexican joints and go see some music with him. He doesn't drink anymore so we can't go out and get drunk or messed up like we did in our younger days. It's really weird to think about how long we've been friends. We met in 1978 and he taught me everything good I know about radio. I picked up a bunch of my own bad habits but he taught me the right way. I've worked for him, he's worked for me, we've worked across town from each other and we've cried on each other's shoulders a hundred times. At one point in my life I thoroughly expected us to get married at some future date. Thank God that didn't happen. He has the perfect wife for him and two sweet little boys. I got the perfect man for me and we both have spouses that don't mind our friendship. These days we mostly e-mail but we're on the phone when important events occur. He called a while back when Amarillo's radio ratings came in. He had done very well with his station. Lots of good memories with him. Hope we have fun.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland