2000-01-06 00:24:39

Sleepy day

I just went out walking, after midnight, (hmmmm, sounds like a song....) and the stars are beautiful and bright on this moon-less night. I really didn't go out for a "walk," I just went three houses down to get the mail.

One of the benefits from exercise is supposed to be better sleep and more energy. I will be quite happy if I eventually get to that result. Today I did not. I met with the personal trainer again and learned more about the machines and the free weights too. There was a specific exercise to bet rid of "bra fat" (the fat where the arm connects to the chest--yuck). I will have to concentrate on that one. I did all my exercises and walking and bicycling and came home well worn. I did a few things around the house (mainly eating pecans and pistachios) and got ready for work. When it was time to BE at work, not just leave for work, I laid down for "just a minute." Next thing I knew it was two hours later. Yes, it's a good thing my job is flexible. Bad thing was I never could get with it tonight and I only managed to get the bare minimum done.

Fun experience at Starbucks that shows my great love of all things fattening. I went to get some coffee to wake me up. They still had Eggnog Latte on the menu. I commented on it and they said I'd better order it because they were down to the last half-carton and tonight would be the last night for it. I said, no, I'd had my last Eggnog Latte for the season and was satisfied. The "cook" (coffee maker? milk steamer?) said, Please, use up my eggnog! I said I'd drink it cold for him but I just wanted a regular Latte tonight. He poured me a big cup of eggnog and gave it to me. Heaven! Man, I love eggnog. I could drink an entire carton daily if it weren't the most fattening liquid in the world next to Eagle Brand sweetened condensed milk and Karo syrup (both of which I also love and can drink).

My nephew Connor, the ten year old, learned this Christmas that he loves eggnog. He was drinking some one day and reading the carton and saw that it said "non-alcoholic eggnog." He said, "Is there such a thing as ALCOHOLIC eggnog?" His mother told him that there was. He said, "What will they think of next? Alcoholic hamburgers?"

My 100-year-old grandfather is in the hospital. He fell back before his birthday (in November) and they didn't x-ray him. Now he's been in pain and they x-rayed and he has a broken hip. They may have to operate or he may be bedfast the rest of his life---neither are very good options. My poor granddad and my poor aunts and Mom.

I had good intentions today to get to the library and get some books on tape and to go to the nursery and buy some herbs for my kitchen window sill. Never made it. Meanwhile, my supercharged hubby ran errands and returned Christmas presents and cleaned out an entire file cabinet, etc. etc. I don't know how he does it. Oh, well, there's always tomorrow...

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland