January 12, 2002 10:45 pm

Day of Accomplishment

A busy day and that's good. I felt like I was on a path, making forward motions, DOING something to improve some things.

I went to an orientation at ACC for a class I'm taking this semester. One of the prerequisites is that you type 50 words per minute and they won't take your word for it, you have to take a speed test. I aced it. I typed 82 words per minute on a five-minute trial and only had 3 mistakes. Turns out I don't have a couple of classes that are supposed to be prerequistes but since I'm not going for a certificate or degree I think they will let me do it. I'll find out Monday.

Went up to the station and did some work. Nice to do it when no one is there.

I cleaned up all the boxes of Christmas decorations and stored them in the attic (yes, I hauled them up there myself). While I was up there I finally pulled down a box I've been promising to "sort through" for more than ten years. It's a big box of jokes from my morning show's Joke of the Day feature we did each morning. Man, it was a box of lousy jokes. I couldn't have read through all of them but I read a bunch. It was fun seeing letters from regular old listeners and it was interesting to see actual typed letters. When was the last time you saw a typed letter, one NOT done on the computer? I threw most everything in the box away but I did find an old 8 X 10 publicity photo from about 1982 I had forgotten about. Also a lot of joke service comedy stuff. The real lame things that you used to hear disc jockeys say like, "(next jock on the air) got his start working at a dentist's office playing records for people on hold." Ba-dum-bum. Gee, that isn't half bad. I would use it if I STILL WAS ON THE RADIO!!!!

Happened upon the Chris Isaak show tonight on VH1. I'd heard all about it on Showtime and knew that I would like it but didn't know they are showing old ones on VH1. I'll have to try to keep up with it. I taped this one to show Mark when he gets home from Houston.

Another big accomplishment of the day was actually beginning this big family reunion project I'm working on. I have about 180 bad addresses for family members and I have to see if I can find good addresses so we don't just lose these people from our mailing list. Haven't quite figured out how I'm going to go about this and also ran into another snag: The family tree software allows you to make labels from the addresses in the tree, which is well and good. But there are at least two women I've got notes from that use their own name instead of their husband's name. The software just doesn't allow you to do that! We're going to have to hand label some and remember to do it so we don't offend these women. And I know that one would be offended because she included a very strongly worded letter with her address. Glitches.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland