Tuesday, Dec. 02, 2003 7:19 am

Alone Again, Naturally

I'm up way too early, but I prefer that over way too late (being up in the morning, that is, not staying up late at night, which is very pleasant, I mean, if I want to be up late at night and not being forced too by insomnia, too much caffeine coursing through my system, or, something frightening, like, hmmmmm, having to go up to work at midnight because I failed to do something important).

I made old Cotton at work mad at me yesterday and he let me know it, too. I was pissed at him for a schedule snafu that could have been bad if it hadn't been caught in time last week the night before the holiday. I told him (again!) that he MUST post the schedule so we all know who is supposed to do what. It is his area and I try to stay out of it, but this time it became my responsibility because he was off on vacation. He gave me the old "I know, I know" and then came back later to say he didn't like how I treated him. I wanted to say that great classic line "It wouldn't be nagging if you had listened to me the first time." Maybe it isn't a classic line, but it should be. I heard Wendy Liebman use it on Letterman last week. She also said, "I worried about growing up to be an old maid. Then I grew up to be a maid... for a husband and two boys." I can't very well use that one without some modification, but I liked it, too. Anyway, I pleased myself at how Cotton's criticism didn't make me feel guilty and dwell on it (or is it considered dwelling if I write it hear?).

Today is our big client luncheon. That is probably why I am up early... anticipation. I'm looking forward to it. Last year's was good, but I barely knew the ropes and hardly knew any clients. This year I have a dozen or more of my own important clients and I am determined to find me a couple more good ones today that maybe haven't considered me much before and will be WOWED by me. I have been pressed into service to emcee the function because our venerable morning man is on vacation and unavailable. That's fine, too.

You know, I miss having co-workers I like.

I am trying to be very independent this month. I have certainly always been independent, but when it comes to events and functions, I would really like Mark to go with me. He rarely does. And he often just ignores the invitation until it is too late for me to do anything else (here is where I could link to past entries like the Loretta Lynn heartache in March). I am going to quit doing that. I will issue the invitation, or not, and begin doing these things with other friends or alone and let him have his time alone, if that is what he wants. Saturday night I was issued an invitation to see Radney Foster tomorrow night at the Cactus Cafe. Of course, I adore him and have never seen him in the acoustic setting, which I really think, for him, would be more meaningful and interesting than the full band show. I extended the invitation to Mark Sunday and he gave me the "we'll see" answer that parents are so famous for. I am not going to bring it up again. I'm just going, with or without him or anyone else.

I ended up RSVPing for my Christmas company party a day late because I had asked him, received no answer, and then forwarded the company e-mail invitation again to see if he would be available or want to go. No response. My late RSVP turned out to be okay so I'll go to the party alone. I would love to take him and show him off, and I dread answering the questions "Where's Mark" from everyone and their dog on Friday night.

This morning, since I'm up and needing to do something, I'm going to work on my Christmas letter. I suppose I'll send one this year. I get frustrated at having to do it alone, too, so I may keep it simple this year and only send to my 100 closest friends. ha

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland