Sunday, Dec. 21, 2003 10:31 pm

Frustration at Zilker

Many pleasant things happened today, but it ended with a lot of frustration so that is what I'm stewing over right now. This has happened before and I MUST find a way to prevent it from happening again. In a nutshell, I went to Zilker Park to introduce the band during the Trail of Lights. The longer version includes fighting unbelievable traffic, having Mark drop me off (thank God he was with me for this) as close as possible, I hiked in huffing and puffing to the stage and found a different band than the one I was to introduce. Turns out she's tomorrow night. Okay. Great. Mark huffed and puffed after he found parking and found me. We've both hiked well over a mile for no good reason. I did introduce this band, but I have a feeling they are going to expect me there tomorrow night. I am not going to do that. Tomorrow I'm going to be there for a live broadcast (how dumb is that? A broadcast from a trail of lights in the broad daylight?). When it is over, I am splitting because I will have work at the station to do and I'm not going to hang out for two hours for a 30 second introduction that doesn't mean anything to anybody. I'm pissed, if you can't tell. Maybe I need to make up my own commitment sheet and have everyone involved sign it and then there will be no "misunderstanding" about who said what. This happened just within the past week or two and I can't remember when, now, but it also was her word against mine.

Before all this fiasco happened, I had a great time at my boss's 50th birthday party. His birthday is Christmas Eve and he says this was only the second birthday party he's every had! So sad! He seemed quite pleased that we were all there to wish him well. Of the few members of the airstaff there, I believe me and one other were the only ones that he had hired himself and didn't just inherit from his predecessor. My gift was a huge success, too. After about 10 bottles of wine, I gave him a little photo frame shaped like a record player with a picture of him and his wife in it. Personal, related to his work, nice. It was a big hit.

This afternoon I had some fun out shopping on my own. Just some little things, no important Christmas shopping, though I did buy us a nice little stereo for our bedroom. I've been wanting a CD player in there for a long time.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland