2000-04-30 01:08:44

Good Saturday

This has been a good Austin day.

Slept late without feeling the need to get up nor the grogginess that prevented me from getting up at all.

Beautiful bright day. Mark surfed while I read the paper.

He actually invited me to lunch (he likes to eat alone) and we went to Matt's El Rancho. Hadn't been there since we lived here and it was good. I was concerned that I had on shorts and my legs weren't shaved well and I have a huge bruise on my ankle. I didn't know if I should be seen out in public like that. Four people got out of a van just before we parked. The girl had spiky red/magenta hair and a turquoise lame short dress and big heavy boots. Mark said, "And you were worried!" We held back to the hostess wouldn't think that we were all together.

Visited a cool antique and upholstery shop on Lamar. Didn't have anything I wanted but gave me some creative ideas.

Came home and Mark went to work on the computer looking for a great car rental deal in Wisconsin and Chicago. I'm afraid he's stretching himself too thin. He's trying to go to a drum show in Chicago between gigs in Wisconsin. It will involve about 7 or more hours of driving in one day and the pressure of having to get to a strange gig in a strange town in a strange car. I hate for him to do it but I'm not saying anything. I'm just hoping the timeframe and road pressures will convince him that that isn't something he needs to do.

I went to work on a birdhouse project. I have a cool birdhouse built in the shape of a Route 66 sign. I have a kindred connection with Route 66 because I was born on it. No, not the cool way, in the backseat of a convertible or in a roadside motel. I was born at a hospital on Route 66 in Amarillo (okay, technically it is a block off of it) and I have spent many a happy time on Route 66. The birdhouse has two holes where the 6s are. I have had it a long time but I finally got around to using my rotary tool to smooth the rough spots and I painted the black parts. Tomorrow I may tackle the white parts but I may have to get a better paintbrush before I can do that. It was fun just to be doing something creative for a while.

I took an afternoon nap that was wonderful and then actually cooked a real dinner. Quite a rarity.

Mark is off gigging and I've been cutting more quilt squares. I'm setting myself up for a world of work on this quilt. The squares are way too small. I intend to sew them on the machine though. I will still quilt by hand but I don't want to piece by hand if I can help it.

It's hot in the house tonight. I think I'll go turn on the AC.

Tomorrow is the journalers get together at El Arroyo. I'm looking forward to it except that I am broke broke broke but I still intend to drink drink drink. I guess I ought to take a look through some old entries and see if there is anything mildly amusing or touching to read. I doubt if I read. Makes me nervous. I like being on the radio where even if I say the lamest thing and I know it is incredibly lame I don't have to see anyone's face or reaction.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland